It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Do the advantaged of having a gap year outweigh its disadvantages?

Spending a year off to pursue other things instead of tertiary education after graduating from high school is preferred by more and more people. Personally, I believe that this phenomenon does more harm than good to most people.

On the one hand, having a gap year before going to the college might have some advantages. Firstly, for those who want to explore the world surrounding them and get some real-life experiences, postponing their study can enable them to travel to numerous places or apply for a job, thus obtaining their goals. Besides, some people believe that this would give them working experience, which would be appreciated by future employers. Another reason is that some youngsters want to escape from the vicious cycle of studying, which has made them exhausted, and take a long rest. As a result, their mental and physical health might improve after intense preparations for the high school graduating examination.

However, I think that few people have a certain level of self-understanding and necessary soft skills to obtain the aforementioned benefits because the dangers and drawbacks of having a gap year can make their one year off unsatisfying. First and foremost, given that most youngsters have limited professional knowledge and skills, their gap-year jobs tend to be contemporary, low-paid and labour-intensive such as waiter and cashier. Even worse, these low-skilled jobs do not increase their competitiveness in the future job market since they do not prove their professional expertise in occupations trained at their universities. Moreover, for those who want to be a full-time traveller, their travelling experience might become terrible due to a lack of essential soft skills like communication skills and problem-solving skills. Also, there are unpredictable dangers of criminals or health problems which make becoming a college student a more reasonable choice.

In conclusion, although going out to seek memorable adventures or working experience might be appealing to young people, to me, the disadvantages of this decision are still more significant than its advantages.