It is better for students at university to live far away from home than to live at home with their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, whether university pupils should live on their own or with their family is a topic of debate. In my opinion, while I agree that living with parents is worthwhile in some ways, I still believe that having a free life brings much more benefits to the students themselves.

On the one hand, the idea of sharing a living with parents is reasonable to some extent. First, living together under the same roof helps create a stronger bond between two generations. Through daily activities such as cooking and having meals, watching television or chatting, both parents and children can get to understand more about each other, thus becoming more attached and closer. Moreover, living at home helps students to be more ensured about their parents as they get older. In some emergency cases, for example, an unexpected health problem, they are able to be there to take care of their parents and take them to the hospital if necessary.

On the other hand, the students themselves will benefit more from living out. First, this provides them with various living skills, which will be useful in their later life. When they move out to live alone, they have to fend for themselves without their parents’ assistance. Therefore, they will be gradually accustomed to doing household chores skills such as cooking and doing the washing up and problem solving skill when something unpredictably happens. Furthermore, living on their own makes them become financially independent of their parents. They are aware that they cannot turn to their parents whenever they run out of money. As a result, they will have to find a job to earn a living, which at the same time, helps them to understand and treasure the value of money. Since then, they many get into a positive habit of saving money for emergency situations and even their future plans.

To conclude, while living with parents may brings university students a sense of attachment and security, I believe that living a self-control life will turn these students into more versatile and independent people.