Some people prefer to help or support directly in the local community for people who need it; however, others prefer to give money to the national or private charities.

Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

These days, many people would prefer to provide direct supporting actions to those in need within local areas, whereas others opt to donate money to either private or public charities. This essay will disscuss both standpoints and present my own opinion.

On the one hand, immediate and direct assisstance to people locally helps build up a great sense of attachment among people. This may be because when visiting each household with a view to giving help, people may have a chance to have informal talks, which helps express their care, consideration and the spirit of willingness to help each other. For example, residents in a community who raise funds to help a particular household who was redundant due to Covid-19 pandemic, and come to encourage the family to overcome adversities. As a result, this not only helps that family financially, but at the same time, also create a sense of attachment and community inside both receivers and givers.

On the other hand, I believe that donating money to national and private charity centers is a more effective approach due to its large-scale nature. To be specific, money raised by these charities often come from various sources, including individuals and private and public enterprises. This money is managed by either the government or private charity organization, who are also responsible for allocating properly money to people in difficulties in different areas. For example, people from many parts of Viet Nam donated a large amount of money to national funds, which was then given to people living in regions affected by the disastrous thunderstorm last year. As it can be seen, the public can join hands to help even those they do not know and those who live in the places they have never came to, which contributes to a greater, and therefore, more efficient support.

To conclude, while giving support locally and directly may bring people a great sense of community, I still believe that raising funds to charities will be a better choice, by which they gather more money to help people on a larger scale.