It is better for students at university to live far away from home than to live at home with their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, whether university pupils should live on their own or with their family is a topic of concern. In my opinion, I still believe that having a life out of their home brings much more benefits to the students themselves.

To commence with, living out without their parents will help cultivate the students’ independence abilities, which will be useful for their later life. When they move out to live alone, they have to fend for themselves . Therefore, they will be gradually accustomed to doing household chores skills such as cooking and doing the washing up and problem solving skill when something unpredictably happens. Moreover, they may learn to manage their own budget properly because they are aware that they cannot turn to their parents whenever they run out of money. As a result, they will have to find a job to earn a living, which makes them treasure the value of money and thus, forcing them to spend their money properly.

Moreover, living away from parents provides students with a more free and private life. It is because they can live out of their parents’ control and protection, which sometimes restricts them from doing their wants. When moving out to live on their own, they are able to do what they always dream of, to take responsibility of their life and to make daily decisions without being intervened in by parents’ opposing ideas. For example, when living their own life, a student can throw an overnight party with her friends without any complaints from her parents, and she can even buy anything with her own money without asking for their permissions.

To conclude, I strongly believe that living a self-control life will turn these students into more versatile and independent people which will help them in the future, and at the same time, give them a sense of privacy and freedom.