In some countries, parents expect children to spend long time studying in and after school and have less free time. Do you think it has positive or negative effects on children and society that they live in?

These days, in some countries, parents have a tendency to put pressure on their children to spend time studying both at school and after school and take less participation in leisure activities. In my opinion, I believe that this is a negative trend that has detrimental effects on children’s health and the society at the same time.

To commence with, being forced to study for long periods of time can harm a student's physical health. It is because when children have to sit at their desk studying for a long time without breaks, they are likely to have back and eye-related problems. In fact, a recent survey in Viet Nam has revealed that more than 65% of elementary students have short-sightedness at a young age due to excessive hours of studying. In addition, pressure from parents can deprive the children of their original interest in studying. Having to study constantly without being allowed to do their favourite things, the learning process will become a burden and a critical task to children. As a result, they turn to study like motionless machines and lose the natural enthusiasm and curiosity to discover new things.

Furthermore, that parents make their kids study too much can cause negative impacts on society. As children have to spend many hours studying, there is a likelihood that they suffer from depression and stress, the stimulation of which can turn into extreme psychological disorders. Consequently, they tend to perform anti-social behaviours that hurt themselves by committing suicide and even hurt other people including their friends and families.

To conclude, I firmly believe that overpressing children to spend much time studying without partaking in outdoor activities can decrease children’s motivation to study and lead to their health problems physically and at the same time, psychologically, which also poses a threat to the society.