Raising oil prices is the best way to tackle traffic congestion. To what extent to you agree?

It is argued that the optimum method to puzzle out traffic jam is increase fuel prices. This essay partly agrees that oil prices should be raised by the government to tackle traffic congestion. Firstly, this essay will discuss how higher oil prices could solve the aforementioned problem and secondly, discuss some inappropriate aspects of this method.

To commence with, increasing oil expenses can be the lucrative and feasible solution in terms of tackling traffic congestion. The key argument in support of this view is that there will be more a focus on public transports such as buses and mass rapid transit whose capacities are significantly bigger than that of private vehicles. This is particularly true of underprivileged students who are on tight budget or people who have meager incomes so they can put aside some money by utilizing public transport. Ultimately, raised oil expenses can be effectively utilized by the government to overhaul shoddy transportation frameworks.

On the other hand, I believe that the aforementioned notion can fail to curb the core problems because there is a burgeoningly immense demand for transportation on which some industries depend heavily so, from my perspective, other plausible solutions should be seriously considered. Take Singapore as prime example where new charge of congestion was levied on drivers who want to enter crowded downtowns in order to discourage them from using personal transports and this could correspondingly translate into less traffic congestion. This is a testimony to the notion that raising oil prices is not the most optimal way to tackle traffic jam.

To recapitulate, although a solid theoretical ground seems to support the idea of lifting oil expenses to reduce traffic congestion, the insatiable demand for transportation is the biggest hindrance for this suggestion to successfully conquer the issue. Therefore, to deal with this problem, more effective regulations should be imposed and one in this case is charge of congestion.