In the past, people wore their traditional clothes and followed their culture. These days, most people wear similar clothes and therefore look very similar to one another. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In our increasingly interconnected world, the global availability of similar clothes has become a defining characteristic of our time. This phenomenon, driven by globalization, has sparked a significant debate. While some may argue that this trend is homogenizing the world, I firmly believe that it represents a highly positive development, for two key reasons.

With the development of technology, in the current age every trend reaches every part of the world. With the passing of time, people are adapting more to comfortable clothes than age old traditional clothes. These traditions and culture were built over a thousand years ago and traditional clothes were designed keeping the trends of those time in mind. Such clothes are certainly not suitable for this age. For example, in the 1700s, the standard etiquette for women were to wear floor-length gown to all the places they visit, now that women are flourishing at every field, a civil engineer cannot wear a gown to a construction site. This example illustrates that choosing to break free from traditional clothes and adapting to an age and time appropriate clothing style is a positive development for every nation.

Moreover, due to similar outfit style, migration has been made very easier for people all over the world. Now that, most of the world population is adapting to a similar dress code, any young boy or girl going to abroad for higher education doesn’t have to feel out of place and face difficulty in adapting to their way of life. Similarly, tourists visiting a foreign country, will not look incongruous as people from all countries are familiar with same types of outfits.

However, I do believe to some extent traditions and culture needs to be preserved. For example, people should try to embrace their traditional clothing during a traditional festival rather than wearing age old traditional clothing in their day-to-day life.

To conclude, owing to globalization, people are moving towards a more comfortable and age-appropriate clothing which is a huge step towards positive development of the world.