Many employers are looking for people with good social skills as well as good qualifications. Are social skills as important as qualifications? How could this be a problem?

Nowadays, both strong job-related skills and social abilities are highly valued by companies. I firmly agree with this issue to some extent, meanwhile, the factors will be elucidated in the subsequenting paragraph.

On the one hand, solid interpersonal skills in employees would bring several merits, firstly, people tend to long for valuable assets by way of great personal branding which become indispensable to attractive positions in a company. For instance, paralinguistic features including intonation range and loudness play a key to success during interview sessions, thus, speaking enthusiastically can convey a candidate’s genuine interest in the position. Moreover, certain employers might implement a grading system for industrial engineering job applicants to likely ensure the requisite technical expertise when performing day-to-day work. Following this, strict SOPs and professional certificates (welding engineer and inspector) qualify employees to have the required competencies for their roles.

Regarding the causes, the high levels of hostile workplace among employees stem from discrimination and social disparity, hindering good relationships in the workplace. As seen in India work culture, a pervasive system issue where seniority and gender discrimination reigns supreme and demands of junior employees become an inescapable problem. In addition, maintaining standards in a rapidly evolving era of globalisation, companies face fierce rivalry and continuously adapt to technological and market changes. Evidently, in this cutting-edge era, nearly every business necessitates digital marketing on social media platforms with the current qualification in place, exacerbating workers to experience heightened stress levels and struggle with job demand.

In conclusion, from my perspective, strong interpersonal skills and qualifications in the workplace would bring substantially advantageous aspects ranging from precious individuals to distinct requirements. Nonetheless, the reasons are rising workplace incivility and imposing further details of job requirements.