It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

There is a common belief that children at an early age must distinguish between right and wrong and punishment is required in some cases for them to differentiate the right and wrong. While some argue that punishment is essential to teach them change their behaviors, in my point of view, I partly disagree with this argument.

On the one hand, apt punishments could make them aware of their immoral behaviors. When children do something wrong like telling lies, disobeying and so on, it is necessary to be meted out to discipline them by their parents. From that they could realize that their mistake was not acceptable, and they could do better of their shortcomings. Parents might penalize their children by warning or minor physical punishment to avoid repeating their mistakes. For example, when I was at primary school, I didn’t do my homework so my mum punished me by requiring an extra hour per day for learning or I couldn’t watch any cartoons until I finished my exercise. This helped me realize my fault as well as increase my self-examination.

However, as far as I am concerned, these benefits are outweighed by their drawbacks. First, savage penalties might threaten their mental as well as physical health. This might lead the children to distress or depression, not to mention this can also lead to serious injuries by harsh punishment. According to scientific evidence, this action could make children scared to other people, and gradually their personality becomes irritable and angry with relatives as well as their friends. For instance, my cousin was often beaten badly by his parents and had all his favorite items confiscated when he made a mistake. Gradually, he was not only not afraid, but also disobeyed and opposed to his parents' requests. Moreover, the children are not matured enough to know why parents punish them by harsh disciplines. they may imitate their parents' actions and in turn this can cause them to be violent when they grow up.

In conclusion, in my point of view, punishment is one of the effective ways to guide the children learn this distinction. However, parents also should consider deliberately before penalizing as well as apply the appropriate penalty.