It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Early education shapes the character of children and affects the rest of their life. However, there are many ways that adults can apply to help their children learn about right and wrong. I partly agree that punishment plays a necessary role.

There is a wide range of punishments depending on the severity of problems. If children commit small mistakes such as not doing their homework or household chores, they may serve punishments as doing other tasks, reducing time for hanging out or playing games. If they do serious things such as robbery, murdering…, they will be put in jail. In general, punishment is the way adults teach children about their responsibility, the consequences they may face if they do the wrong things. In some cases , it helps other kids realize what is wrong or right behavior. Moreover, it helps others stay away from naughty kids and learn wrong things from them.

On the other hand, children are the most vulnerable group in society. Some are also very stubborn, especially teenagers. As a result, punishment may harm kids, causing not physical but also mental problems for them. In some cases, children may choose to end their life as the way to relieve stress and prejudices as a crime of society when they do the wrong thing. To prevent it, parents and teachers, instead of punishing their kids, should find better solutions. Solving problems based on specific situations and for each individual is very important. They should talk deeply to childrens, find their difficulties and reasons why they are doing wrong actions, tell kids that their behavior is not good, and may harm not only themselves but also others. Secondly, adults must behave in the right way because children are easily influenced by their parents and teachers’ actions since they think it is right. Last but not least, adults should stay by them, give them advice and our hands whenever kids need.

In conclusion, it seems to me that punishment is of significance to educate children on how to distinguish right from wrong, while we should apply punishment carefully and combine other ways to teach kids.