It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion What sort of punishment should parents and t

It is often believed that children ought to accurately differentiate between what is right from what is wrong when they are relatively young and by punishing them helps to distinguish this habit. In my opinion, I cpmpletely disagree because this is not the most effective method of punishing a child, and better ways to discipline a child in place of punishment.

There are several reasons why penalizing a child does not help in distinguishing between a practical sense of right and wrong. Firstly, it instils fear and fierce resentment in them. This is because their emotional brain is however developing, therefore, they are incapable to comprehend why they are required to behave in a certain way. Another reason is child discipline can modify their behaviour. Take, for example, a child who is punished in ways, such as nagging, spanking, yelling or beating, always often end up bullying other children or become a victim of bullies. They usually misinterpret this supposedly corrective parental method as an appropriate and acceptable disciplinary measure. Thus, physical punishment causes more harm than good to toddlers and preschoolers.

Furthermore, many efficient and non-violent pedagogical techniques can be adopted to discipline children to behave in their best. For instance, not only parents but also teachers should make use of effective methods such as positive reinforcement, effusive praise, non-coercive discipline and contingent encouragement in teaching children good manners. It involves praising and encouraging them, providing a treat, and praising to reward them for their behaviour. This will encourage children feel good about their choices, which will inspire them to increase the acts that bring rewards. Consequently, it makes them to acquire helpful habits that will filter through adulthood and will prove beneficial throughout life.

In conclusion, children who receive corporal punishment are victims of bullies and mental disorders. Parents and teachers should serve as role models and also educate children to possess good behaviour.