It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is argued by some that, learning the distinction between right or wrong is substantial for children from an early age and it is essential to determine punishment in order to helping them learn this difference. While I believe that children ought to be taught to realize the distinction of right and wrong, I disagree that they necessarily should be punished to learn this skill.

On the one hand, early age for children is the best time for learning the difference between right and wrong. This is mainly because it is in the formative years that the development of physical and intellectual growth of children take place. In other words, character formation happens at early age and thus teaching children what is right or wrong can result into making them self-directed and assuming responsibility for their wrong choices. This, in turn, would lead to bringing up individuals who can make decisions faster, easier and more efficiently.

On the other hand, punishment can exert a negative influence on children’s behavior especially in their formative years. This is due to the fact that penalizing children for each wrong action may result into fear and stress. Punishments, especially physically ones, not only can disable children to choose the right thing, but also would impede further decision making. My cousin, for instance, used to be punished by her parents every time she did a wrong choice whether it was a big mistake or a small one. In so doing, she turned to a painfully shy and taciturn person and is always stressed out. Having said that, parents and teachers ought to provide a supportive environment and supervise children’s behavior. Then if discipline is needed use such techniques as time off groups, taking away technology and get them to help with household chores.

In conclusion, although it is influential that children learn to distinguish between wrong and right in their formative years, in my opinion, punishing them is not essential yet guardians and tutors can use methods of discipline to prevent children from misbehavior and wrong decisions.