It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age.

Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Learning to distinguish good from bad at an early age is of great importance for youngsters. To help them understand the difference, punishment is necessary. I strongly agree with this point of view because getting punished is facing the consequences of one’s bad behavior. However, only mild punishment should be allowed.

On one camp, the fear of punishment encourages youngsters to stay away from wrongdoing. Firstly, punishment shows children their misbehaviors have conscious. For instance, a kid punished for stealing the classmate's pencil is unlikely to it again because of the embarrassment he faced. Moreover, punishment shapes their futures and behaviors. When children grow up, they will avoid the wrong path due to the lessons they learned in their childhood.

However, only mild punishment should be used to discipline children. At a young age, youngsters are very emotional and rebellious. The severe punishment has a negative effect on a child's emotion and thought. Therefore, if parents scold or spank them strictly for their misbehavior, children can be even more rebellious. Instead, parents should use mild punishments, such as taking away their pocket money or asking them to do household chores, and at the same time educate them about why they receive the punishments. These methods are unlikely to hurt children’s feelings and make them rebel more.

In conclusion, it is essential for youngsters to learn the distinction between wrong and right, especially through wild punishment parents use. To have a better future for children, parents should take a good education since they are at an early age.