It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion What sort of punishment should parents and t

During childhood, kids must learn what is good or what is bad in life. One of the effective ways to teach them the difference between right and wrong is to punish them. I completely agree that punishment will promote good and ethical behaviour provided that there is n corporal punishment as it makes them more adament.

Early years are the formative stages of life and whatever they inculcate during this period stays in their mind for lifetime. Hence, chastisement of children is pertinent in order to ensure righteous behaviour. For instance, if a child shows aggression or disrespects elders, rather than smacking, parents can cancel an outing or refuse to buy gifts on their birthday to ensure they never repeat this sort of act again in life. Hence, the more parents are cautious about the way children behave, the better equipped their future will be. On the contrary, it is also imperative to appreciate them if they show the right attitude. For example, a child deserves praise for helping others.

Furthermore, not only at home but also at schools, it is important to teach them the consequences of wrongful acts. When a student steals a pencil from his classmate, he needs to learn a lesson. In this case, rather than giving any physical punishment, the teacher can simply give impositions or ask the kid to sit in the class during the physical training period. In this way the children will understand not to replicate the same. Consequently, they will become more focused towards their studies instead of involving in any unethical activity. This will surely create a good society in the future if children learn these lessons today.

To recapitulate, punishment to refrain wrongdoings and appreciation to encourage good behaviour will build a promising future for children in later life.