It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

in this day and age, children's mental and physical development is one of the most prevalent topics. it is said that punishment is essential to discipline children at an early age. from my point of view, parents should not use strict punishment on children; on the other hand, finding approriate teaching methods is much more significant. in this essay, i will support my opinion with some examples.

to begin with, many researches indicate that punishment does not help children to undersand their problems. it is widely accepted that slapping, beating and scolding cannot correct childrend's behaviour; otherwise, children become misbehaved and averse to any discipline from their parents. in this case, punishment totally gives no effect to building children's good behaviour

another reason why i disagree with punishing children is that this kind of discipline negatively cause physical and mental damage. beyond being ineffective, punishment leaves injury on children's bodies and prevent the development of brain. in addition to physical hurt, punishment like yelling or scolding increases hormones called toxic stress, which makes children feel stressed and depressed. it may lead to a serious consequence that children become more vulnerable and isolated from society.

instead of using punishment on children, there are many other ways to help them learn acceptable behaviour. one outstanding way that doctors highly recommend is calmly explaining. parents should consistently point out children's faults and show them the consequences if they misbehave. listening to children additionally makes them feel more comfortable and take notice of what parents say.

in conclusion, i personally think that punishment is not an effective way to teach children good behaviour. parents ought to be responsible for discovering other approriate ways to educate their children.