It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Many parents continuously wonder how to teach their offspring to differentiate between right and wrong, and if punishment is essential in the nurturing process. In my opinion, children should learn about morality at an early stage, but not necessarily via punishment methods. I will also mention a few types of punishment that are advisable for the development of good behavior in children.

Punishment is not always necessary in the child-rearing process. The first reason is that parents can make conversations with kids to tell them the difference between good and bad, despite punishment. I believe that good communication with kids not only teaches the young moral lessons but also builds a strong relationship with them. Furthermore, punishment can have a detrimental effect on children’s mental health. They potentially become scared of parents, anxious when making mistakes, and unwilling to share with them. More seriously, if children were punished physically in the long run, capital punishment could cause depression and autism. To sum up, punishment does not have beneficial impacts on children; moreover, it can exacerbate the circumstance and ruin children-parent relationships.

However, there are a few situations parents must resort to punishment. If they have taught the young about a mistake but they keep making it intentionally, parents can give them warnings and simple punishments to make them obey and never do that again. For example, my brother had never greeted the elderly in spite of being reminded every time, and my father had not allowed him to go out until he promised to greet people. Punishment should be executed occasionally in extremely necessary cases. I think if most children are educated well via communication, they no longer need any punishments.

Parents can apply a few sorts of punishment such as detention, housework, tightening curfew, reducing allowance, and so on. I think parents can always come up with suitable punishments for their children, as long as they do not involve capital punishment and violence.

All in all, punishment is not of great importance in nurturing children because teaching via talking always has more positive effects. Multiple methods can help children differentiate between right and wrong to become good citizens.