It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is true that children should be warned about right and wrong from childhood. However, in my opinion, parents should avoid punishment since it may cause emotional harm to children, and in case of necessity, adults should carefully observe the language they are using to criticize their children.

In order to teach the younger ones to be thoughtful about their behavior, punishment is not essential and would be better dismissed. This is because punishments have a detrimental impact on a child's self-confidence. Generally, most of the means of correction include offensive language or physical attacks. As a result, they directly point at the child's dignity and pride. For instance, parents normally accuse their children of not being nice and honest when disobeying them. In addition, awards and prices are practical enough to make parents needless of blaming and punishing their kids. This stems from the fact that the younger ones usually tend to get praised and encouraged for behaving in an acceptable manner, and that is just sufficient to motivate them to avoid the wrong. A healthy rivalry at school could be taken as an example.

However, some may argue that occasionally, it is crucial to punish children for what they have done wrong. In this case, it is essential to consider the sort of punishment. To illustrate the point, adults can go on with verbal blaming rather than physical punishment, which is told in a lower voice, talking calmly about the specific subject and not generalizing. Parents who criticize their kids with gentle language in their privacy are proof of this. Accordingly, verbal punishment that is accurately done does not cause any harm to one's mental or physical health.

In conclusion, although any type of punishment is harmful to children and destroys their dignity, when choosing to criticize a child, parents should be aware of their language and avoid shouting or any kind of argument.