It is important to have huge public spaces like parks and squares in towns and cities. Do you agree or disagree with the given statement?

It is argued that open premises are crucial to the layout of a municipality. Although there are some clear advantages of these constructions, I disagree that towns and cities are in dire need of larger public places and will further elaborate in this essay.

It is understandable why open spaces such as parks and squares are considered as important factors to urban life. An evident explanation is that such places can provide the residents with peace of mind after a day of hectic schedules. A variety of recreational activities can be conducted thanks to the existence of spacious open premises, namely skateboarding, dancing or cycling. Moreover, public places with historical background can also attract tourists; therefore enhance the tourism industry of a city or town. Ba Dinh Square is a prime example for the case as what happened there has marked a milestone in the history of Vietnam.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned benefits, I believe that erecting larger public premises can be indeed counter-productive. As the matter of fact, populations of urban cities are increasing inexorably; there for a shortage of available land. If open squares and parks are constructed, it will narrow down the space dedicated for residential housing and commercial premises, which are regarded as far more essential to the society.

Another justification is that allocations for these constructions can take up a large part in the municipal budget. I am convinced that this money should be diverted more properly in order to address emerging problems such as the deterioration of health service or the dire strains of the environment. Moreover, excessive number of parks and squares be a waste of money and land as they are disused, namely the abandoned Tuoi Tre park in Hanoi.

In conclusion, while there are benefits of erecting larger public premises, it is my firm conviction that the number of parks and squares should be reduced to make space for other constructions.