It is more important for school children to learn about their local history rather than world history. Do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that school children should only study local history instead of the history of other countries. I disagree with this statement because each focus brings students unique advantages.

Obviously, it is necessary for school children to study the history of their own country. The primary reason is that understanding their past generations’ behaviour and thoughts can inspire children to relate their current life to their ancestors’ experiences, deepening their sense of belonging to the nation and enhancing national identity. What is more, this strong connection to one’s own roots contributes to a sense of national pride so that children are likely to develop into responsible citizens who are concerned about the well-being of their society and willing to follow the policies implemented by their government. Governments will find it easy to manage the public and control crime rates.

However, school children should also study foreign history. For one thing, as every country has stereotypical views and shortcomings, if children were to only study local history, their mind and potential to succeed would be restricted. In contrast, if they can be exposed to world history, children will learn new ways to approach tasks, inspiring them to think outside the box, thereby cultivating creative thinking. Furthermore, this creativity help them generate innovative ideas and work productively in the future. As a result, the number and the quality of capable workers will increase, resulting in economic growth.

As discussed above, as local and foreign history bring school children different benefits, both of them are worth of studying.