It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a disputable fact that history plays an essential role in the educational system all over the world.While some commentators argue that it is more important for children to study the history of their own country or region rather than the history of the world, I completely agree with the view that both local and world history ought to be taught on account of tremendous benefits they bring

On the one hand, indigenous history is completely a great importance. Firstly, having thorough insights into what happened in the past at one’s locality enhance a sense of patriotism. For example, by studying how earlier generation fought and made sacrifices for the freedom of the country, youngsters would take pride in their origin and treasure more the value of the way of life and liberty that they enjoy today. Additionally, young learners also learn about the core values of their motherland through history lessons. As a result, they are able to gain a deeper understanding of each traditional event and be encouraged to preserve local traditional values and the best customs for generations to come.

On the other hand, I believe that learning global history shares equal importance just as local one. The modern trend towards globalization makes it all the more necessary for schoolchildren to acquire some knowledge about the world’s past events. Studying world history, therefore, keeps youngsters up to date and indeed give them more opportunities to get exposed to the outside world, which they definitely cannot learn through domestic one. Furthermore, being taught world history also benefits schoolchildren in their future career prospects. Take Japanese companies for a typical example, students who accumulate a wide range of knowledge of Japanese history would possess a golden selling point to work for Japanese enterprises since Japan is well-known as a country that highly value the culture.

In conclusion, I would argue that it is equally important for youngsters to study local history as well as international history due to their merits. Therefore, they both should be taught widely in the school curriculum.