Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes

It is commonly believed that the growth of the global tourism industry has negative impacts on destination resorts and countries. While there are various reasons behind this view, several solutions should be adopted by government and international organizations to tackle some of the issues which have arisen.

There are at least two reasons why local residents often consider international tourism as a cause of serious problems in their nations. One reason is that it may have an adverse impact on time-honored traditions and indigenous culture because visitors have no knowledge of them or may be careless of the feelings and the emotions of the locals. Some western holiday-makers coming to visit Southeast Asian countries may wear inappropriate clothes or expose too much skin when visiting sacred places, which is likely to have an undesirable influence on local young people who imitate immodest or provocative behaviour and fashions.Another reason is that foreign visitors revolve/repel the local community with their scant regard for the local environment. Some of them often pollute or litter beauty spots and several famous beaches in Viet Nam, such as Nha Trang, have been spoiled by this lack of respect for the native environment.

However this situation can be improved by adopting some solutions from authorities and international bodies to change negative attitudes. Firstly, the undoubted economic incentives of international tourism for local economies ought to be more widely promoted through the official media. Foreign tourists not only contribute to the economy of the host country with the money they spend on a wide range of goods and services, including food, souvenirs, accommodation and travel, but also create new related-jobs in service industries, and this aspect must be publicised.At the same time, tourist agencies should urge visitors to respect the loca rules and conventions of their host countries. Secondly, bodies such as the World Tourism Organisation must enforce strict regulations on the tourism industry, ensuring that the local operators are accountable for clearing of litter and disposing of waste in ways that do not harm the environment.

In conclusion, there are several reasons that account for the inhospitable feeling that the local people have for the international tourism industry, and only addressing the concerns of the locals will negative attitudes to international tourism be changed.