It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people enunciate a point that it is more important to spend taxpayers’ money on promoting the citizens to live healthier than using it on medical treatment for already ill people. This is not a bad idea, however, I find it not really practical in today’s society and hard to agree with

First of all, the gorvernment should center on financing the treatment of illness due to the increasingly fee of curing. Along with the prolifertion of human society, more and more bizzare diseases have been found, some of them are severe and cost a lot of money to get rid of. Hence, the support from government funding as well as health insurances is highly necessary, especially to patients who do not have enough money such as homeless or unemployed people. Moreover, it’s usually difficult to work when being ill, this may lead to the reduction in the workers’ salary since they cannot complete their job; so medical fee would be a really big concern.

The second reason is that the gorvernment receives taxes revenue, so their duty is to take care of the taxpayers, which mean providing them with proper social services, including medical treatments. By allocating money for patients, supporting them with the medical fee, it will not only helps them to overcome certain financial problems but also makes them feel more willing to pay taxes since they can see it is good for them. Furthermore, many attemps made by the authorities in promoting a healthy lifestyle seem to be useless as living healthy is a choice, it must comes from ourselves’ awareness. In fact, although everyone wants to have a longer life expectancy, excercising or eating nourishing food may be hard because it is not as pleasant as laying on sofa with a pizza on the table.

In short, I defnitely disagree with the idea of using public money on promoting a healthier life instead of supporting patients’ medical fee since many kinds of taxes have been payed for health services.