It is more important to spend on public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes said that the state should spend money on the prevention of illnesses through promoting a healthy lifestyle rather than on the remedies of ill patients. From my perspective, while the former investment has an important part to play, I believe it is by no means of more significance than recovering ill patients.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why the promotion of a healthy lifestyle should receive funding from the government. Firstly, this source of funding could help solve the problems of an unbalanced lifestyle, which is pervasive in modern society and causes a range of debilitating diseases. For instance, obesity and diabetes often result from a lack of exercise and cholesterol-rich diet. These prevailing health problems could be prevented by propagation and public campaigns raising awareness amongst citizens about the associated risks of unhealthy food. Secondly, despite the development of medicine and healthcare systems, a lot of illnesses still remain incurable. For example, in many forms of cancer, the disease cannot be completely cured even after exorbitant and painful courses of therapy, which is regrettable as many of these cancers could have been negated with a healthy lifestyle.

On the other hand, the allocation of a reasonable proportion of public money for treating the ill is on equal terms with the former approach. It is a fact that a number of diseases are heredity. In other words, they are passed from parents to children in the genes and cannot be prevented in any way. For example, a child whose former generations have diabetes has a stronger possibility to suffer from this genetic disorder as he ages. In these cases, neither a healthy lifestyle nor a good diet could ensure a clean bill of health, thus highlighting the role. Moreover, the expenses of medical care and medicines are becoming higher, especially for those with serious inheritable illnesses. In these cases, the medical bill could pose a threat of a financial burden on the ill, who would need financial support from the state to alleviate the problem.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that the government should invest money in the promotion of a healthy lifestyle among all citizens, but this is by no means the public budget should be only distributed since, in many circumstances, costly treatment of the ill cannot be neglected.