It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

It is argued that it is crucial to invest government money in encouraging a healthy lifestyle instead of allocating money to the treatment of people who are already suffering from illness. In my opinion, I almost agree with this view.

Firstly, I advocate that governments should pour budget on activities and campaigns that promote how to lead a healthy lifestyle. This is because some diseases nowadays regarding people's unhealthy habits. In fact, children in western countries who have a habit of eating fast-food every day are suffering from a range of health issues like weight problems and obesity. Therefore, authorities should mobilize their residents to follow a healthy lifestyle by saying no to fast food, from that, they can avoid ailments resulting from eating such as obesity and many cardiovascular diseases. For example, the British Government recommends eating five portions of fruit and vegetable per day, this result in a fall in the rate of people with diabetes. In addition, a healthy lifestyle based on regular exercise should be advocated, this is not only improving the immune system but also preventing various inflammations and mental health problems, such as depression.

Secondly, current medical expenses are extremely expensive, so effective prevention is, in the long run, less costly than cure for both patients and the whole society. To be more specific, effective illness preclusion will reduce the number of people who visit hospitals and this will decrease the cost burden which spent to support public healthcare systems. Instead of that, the government can use that money to help poor people have a chance to approach medical treatments.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, I believe that the spending of governmental money should be centred on disease prevention by raising public awareness of regular exercise and maintaining healthy eating habits.