Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rate of advanced education attendance is believed to be an adequate standard to assess the economic growth of a country as it sufficiently demonstrates the intellectual level of the population. However, due to the cost of such education, it has been the gateway blocking many talented individuals on account of their economic situation. Hence, the notion that the government should fund students' tuition regardless of their socio-economic backgrounds is gaining momentum among people, as they believe it is a universal right. In my opinion, however, although there is a solid foundation supporting this argument, I do not agree with the statement for the following reasons.

First and foremost, it is true that tertiary education should be unhindered to everyone to allow people to have an opportunity to attain a higher degree, helping them diversify their options or assist them on their career paths. Its value would be further emphasised to undergraduates who do not have the privilege of affording university attendance, as it will be an invaluable opportunity for them to open doors to various occupations that can help improve their finances. Furthermore, this can have a positive impact on the workforce due to the increase in professional employees in the market to support a growing economy.

However, I also believe it should not be the administration's responsibility to subsidize tuition completely. Because of the burden on the national finance such intervention may cause, it could lead to adverse effects on the population, for instance, decreasing infrastructure quality or an increased tax rate on the general public. A massive influx to the labour market might also lead to unwanted consequences, such as a bloated workforce, which can generate laziness and diminishing creativity and competition, unadvantageous traits for developing enterprises. Despite all of these, nonetheless, it is inadvisable to have no support handed out to students, as exemptions and scholarships will encourage competition between students, guaranteeing the tickets for only the best to allow a competitive environment of only the most capable students.

In conclusion, while citizens' right to pursue tertiary education is indisputable, the expense of such pursuits should not be in the hand of the national executives, regardless of justifications, on account of the possible detriments it can bring. Only minor assistance should be allocated to entice development among students.