With the rise of ebooks comes the decline of paper books. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, that electronic books gain in popularity reduces the use of conventional books. While I can acknowledge the benefits of this trend, I believe it is an unwelcome development.

Admittedly, the merits of electronic books are undeniable. Firstly, it is convenient for readers. Electronic books can be stored easily in the mobile phone, meaning that people could read books at their own convenience, without carrying a hundred-page bulky book. Some electronic books can also be downloaded for free, which is economical compared to the physical counterpart. In addition, the publishers will also take advantage of electronic books. By uploading books on the Internet, the publishers can minimize the time and effort for manufacturing. This means that the materials used for the manufacturing process can also be saved, thereby contributing to protecting the environment.

However, I would argue that such benefits are marginalized by its significant drawbacks. The most alarming downside is the risks of copyright infringement. A book taking a lot of effort on the author and the publisher can easily be pirated through the Internet, thereby negatively affecting their income. Furthermore, the quality of electronic books must also be concerned. Books on the Internet are carelessly censored as a normal person can publish a book by a gadget without any difficulties. This may bring substandard, harmful books to readers and reduce the values of books. In addition, some works now are only available online as a result of the decline of printed books, indicating that book lovers may have no choice but to read books on high-tech devices. This might lead to some health problems such as eyestrain.

In conclusion, electronic books can facilitate the reading experience and the manufacturing process. However, it is my firm conviction that its potential disadvantages of copyright infringement, the low quality books, and physical health problems to readers are much greater.