Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport while other people think that mental strength is more important Discuss both views and give your own opinion

While many believe that in order to be successful in sports, physical endurance is essential, others argue that mental toughness is more necessary. This essay will discuss both views and justify my support for the former opinion.

On the one hand, many people affirm that mentally strong health is crucial to achieve high-level goals in sports. It is undoubted that the sport industry is a competitive field where every sportsperson is inclined to accomplish high ranks in any championship. Therefore, every sports player has to foster a competitive spirit and even a win-at-all-cost attitude regardless of physical and mental hindrances. If athletes cannot maintain a patient and calm attitude during their competition, they will unlikely be able to perform accurately and acceptably, thus leading to mistakes. These failures can accumulate gradually, and cause sportspeople to be discouraged and unmotivated, which can indeed lead to their resignation in the future.

On the other hand, I firmly assert that maintaining healthy physical strength and endurance is the rudiment of any sport. It is undeniable that numerous sports, such as football volleyball, and swimming, require their players to sustain physical toughness under tremendous pressure within a prolonged duration. Therefore, sportspeople need to have a physically healthy body to perform such energy-consuming activities. By way of illustration, a standard football match usually last for 90 minutes and demands a great amount of energy and stamina from players. As a result, football players are required to have a high level of physical endurance and flexibility, as well as several physical skills to maintain sufficient energy for their bodies to function well. This can explain why there were previously some contestants who used illegal enduring-enhancing substances, such as ephedrine, before their competitions.

In conclusion, despite the importance of maintaining healthy mental strength during competitions, I assert that physical endurance is indispensable to success in sports.