It is often said that governments spend too much money on projects to protect wildlife, while there are other problems that are more important? Do you agree or disagree?

The expenditure on conserving the valuable gems of nature such as wildlife, flora and fauna can be readily seen at a large extent by the government. However, there are people opposing this view and state that other issues prevailing in the society are more crucial to be solved and spent on. Although, there are numerous factors for both the opinions to be discussed on, I agree with the first one since it highlights the importance of wildlife and environment. The subsequent paragraphs shall define my opinion in detail.

To commence with, protection of endangered species and those on the verge of extinction is essential. Firstly, plants and animals form a significant part of the food web, thereby, affecting other natural factors depending upon them. For instance, if the frog species are eliminated from the food chain, the snakes and the animals preying on them would suffer from an acute starvation, hence, every animal specie is important. The same goes with the plants, if one is completely depleted, shall affect the herbivores and other endemic flora. Therefore, it is essential to save them and expend money on such projects.

Secondly, due to modernisation and industrialisation , there has been a drastic impact on forests and wildlife. According to a survey in 2019, the population of forests has collapsed to about a half of their population in 5 decades, which has broken the world record. If their existence is endangered, the life-givers (trees and plants) providing the life-gas, a necessity, oxygen will increasingly diminish, therby, endagering anthropogenic, human existence. So, it is rightful to expend monetary funds by the official government authorities on preserving the wildlife and environment.

To sum up, I completely agree that the executive authorities ought to spend a sum of money on flora and fauna conservation through various projects and allocating a certain amount of funds on this task.