It’s is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares and parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

There have some argument about the existence and need of parks and squares in towns and cities. While some people believe that these open premises are essential, others insist that these places make the land useless and soon they will be replaced by some condominiums or parking lots. In my opinion, despite the voices against the larger public places, parks and squares have an important effect to both the towns and its civilians.

First of all, the open areas is always considered as the heart of each cities. Parks help to improve air quality which is getting more and more polluted in cities. It’s also the place to absorb rain-water, reduce floods occur when the rainy season come. Furthermore, parks is where people can relax, provide people’s health. At night, it can become romantic place for couple to have a date and do something that only god knows. Beside the parks, squares also have an important impact on cities. It’s where people can hold public events such as music festival or flower festival. On the other hand, squares which have a history behind their build may become tourist attraction places, which is imperative for people to preserve it for the next generations.

However, it’s obviously that not all cities are able to have more public spaces because of crowded population and lack of land resources. As we see in Hanoi, government need a lot of space to build railways and underground station which made people have to wait for 10 years to build. Therefore, destroying parks and other public places for current benefits is not the solution for for future. “We will never exchange the economy development for the environment”, said by Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc.

In conclusion, it is necessary for towns to have large public spaces but it also depends on each circumstances, whether or not the towns can afford them.