It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is appreciated that learning to grow vegetables and raise animals. While I personally concur that would be a positive development, it also has several drawbacks that are worth discussing.

On the one hand, for the reasons of time consumption and health concerns, I believe that learning these skills can bring negligible adverse effects. To begin with, the process of growing vegetables and keeping animals would be time-consuming, thus children would not have enough time for revising the old lessons at school. Besides, from a medical perspective, flora and fauna contain an excessive load of detrimental microorganisms, so if schoolchildren, who have a vulnerable immune system, receive prolonged exposure to them, they may be more prone to infectious diseases. Take rabies, a zoonosis disease for example. It is a fatal disease caused by a virus and is spread by an infected animal biting another animal or person. Once symptoms appear, no treatments are effective.

On the other hand, grasping the knowledge of cultivating vegetables and keep animals would be advantageous to children in terms of developing good qualities, and learning to put academic theories into practice, which outweigh the demerits. Initially, as growing veggies and raising animals are practical skills that take up a great amount of time and dedication, children would accumulate a sense of responsibility and patience. Besides, these activities can help children attain the capability of applying theories to practical situations. This is derived from the fact that taking care of veggies and animals requires a wide range of knowledge from the school curriculum. For example, without measuring and counting, which are indispensable mathematical concepts involved in gardening, children may not be able to complete their tasks such as estimating the needed distance between two rows of lettuce.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, although learning to grow vegetables and keep animals have both advantages and disadvantages, my verdict is that the benefits outweigh the minimal obstacles.