It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

As extracurricular activities have prevailed these days, teaching children how to take care of vegetables and animals is becoming more favorable. Although there can be no doubt that this trend is detrimental to a certain extent, the advantages bear a greater significance.

On the one hand, opponents of cultivation and animal keeping emphasize their negative influence on children’s physical health. As children get exposed to the soil and the fur of animals, they might be susceptible to various infectious diseases, which can lead to irreversible damage, especially brain damage. Secondly, as the majority of farming tools are dangerous and sharp, the children who cannot use them appropriately will injure themselves with them, and a scar will go along with them for the rest of their lives. Additionally, the children are devoting most of their time to studying. If they have responsibilities to look after vegetables or animals, they will be exhausted and overwhelmed, causing an imbalance between relaxing and working time.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned disadvantages, there have been a number of positive effects that justify encouraging children to learn to cultivate plants and keep animals. As children experience the farming process and acknowledge how much effort one needs to grow vegetables, they will become more engaged in eating vegetables, which the majority of juveniles hate to do. They will also advise their friends to consume more vegetables and help them improve their physical strength. Moreover, at this early stage, if the teachers instill the importance of protecting wild animals in them by taking care of domestic ones, they will be more sensitive to animal-related issues when they grow up. Hence, the world will see a potential improvement in the number of wild animals that are hunted illegally, hindering the extinction of several animals.

In conclusion, while the aforementioned practice may possess several disadvantages for children’s overall well-being, I am more inclined to the view that the benefits overshadow the drawbacks. It is recommended that schools incorporate at least two practical lessons related to cultivation and animal keeping into their curriculum to assist students in reaping the benefits.