It was predicted that with the development of technology, people in the 21st century would have much more free time than past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

There was a prediction that people nowadays would have more leisure time thanks to the advancement of technology. While this seems to be false, from my perspective, I personally agree with this opinion due to the facilitation of machines for cost-effective.

One of the advantages of technology is that it facilitates human on repetitive tasks. For example, in information technology domain, there is a job title so-called infrastructure engineer, whose jobs relate to provision servers and computers. Once all of the facilities have been deployed, the only left task is to maintenance and resolve any problems occur during the production since all of the components has been setting up automatically with the help of machines. Therefore, the engineers have plenty of free time to constantly upgrade their technical skills, and some even have a secondary job.

Furthermore, the world has experienced a large shift from office workplaces to work from home after the covid-19 pandemic, which are possible by the facilitation of the telecommunication and new technologies such as Zoom, Skype, Microsoft Teams. This significantly decreased the time for employees who live far from the company, instead of spending 3 to 4 hours each day commuting, people can utilize that time to work out to enhance their physical well-being or take care of their family.

In conclusion, the enhancement of technology offers people more time due to the convenience it brings to save a huge amount of time. From my point of view, people in the 21st will definitely have more leisure time than those in the 20th century.