Knowing how to make a group presentation is the most important task for anyone in the world of work today.

How important are presentation and public speaking skills, compared with various other work skills?

Which skill is the most important ability for most people these days?

In the competitive work scene of modern times, a range of skills is desired for the best performance. Among these, the ability to deliver a group presentation has been considered by some people as the most crucial. While this particular skill is useful, I would argue that there is a more vital ability, which is multiple-levelled management.

Certain workplaces indeed highlight the task of presenting and speaking in public. Understandably, the skill is important for working individuals to convey clear summarized information or convince their audience to subscribe to their ideas. This not only facilitates overall work progress but also increase work prospects for those who can impress. Examples for this are relatively wide-ranging, encompassing both regular reports in weekly meetings by employees and inspiring goal-setting speeches by leaders. In spite of the aforementioned ideas, making a group presentation plays more of a supplementary role and is increasingly replaceable with online reports and personnel outsourcing to motivating speakers outside.

On the other hand, mastering techniques of management to varying effects is arguably the most desired skill. To begin with, self-management at work is fundamental for individual professional growth and also the source of intrinsic motivation. For instance, if workers can plan and monitor their own work progress, they have better orientation and can troubleshoot issues that hinder their work, which is crucial to remove these impediments. Furthermore, team management is key to the success of collaborative projects. Effective team leaders, for instance, are capable of not only regulating their own work responsibilities but also assigning tasks to able team members, ensuring project completion consequentially.

Stemming from the arguments above, I conclude that even though the skill of presenting and public speaking has its value, it is not as important as the ability to manage, which is indispensable not only for personal growth but also team progress.