Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention in school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

Inattentiveness among students during lesson hours at school seems to be a universal issue. This problem tends to root in 4 main causes and can be ameliorated using several possible solutions.

Discussing the causes responsible for students’ wavering attention, people first highlight the perennial problem of overbearing syllabuses and outdated teaching practices. For instance, in many schools, students are force-fed abstract concepts and instructed to memorize predetermined answers to prepare for tests, which have proved ineffective in sustaining their interest and attention. Learners’ attentional stamina can also be drained from working long hours, which is substantiated by a schedule that resembles a 9-to-5 workday of adults. Lastly, it is important to include unbalanced lifestyles as a contributing factor. These include staying up late and consuming food lacking vitamins that are important to brain health.

Having examined the aforementioned elements, several remedies are needed to elevate students’ focus at school. While reducing school hours may not be a feasible solution everywhere, academic content in classes can be lightened up and delivered in more engaging ways. For instance, teachers can gamify portions of the lesson with the help of Kahoot and quizizz or organize practicums in which students apply knowledge to solve problems in place of coercing pure memorization. Also, parents can help their children to foster healthier habits. For instance, they can restrict the usage of smart devices at night to ensure sleeping hours and prepare more nutritious meals using publicized guidelines from dietitians.

In brief, students’ struggle to focus during classes could be attributed to overbearing content, obsolete delivery methods, long hours and unhealthy routines. As a result, this necessitates redesigning curricula and better lifestyles among students