Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does this cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

In today’s highly competitive market, businesses and entrepreneurs have been racing against each other, mostly in the marketing field. People have a notion that big companies are allocating their budget in promoting and advertising their products and that resulted in a substantial increase in profit. While this maybe valid to a certain, there are heavy consequences that we might have to deal with in the near future.

Firstly, as large businesses or enterprises pour massive amount of money into marketing campaigns such as hiring influencers, celebrities to promote, the quality of those products are gradually being neglected. In order to raise the budget for marketing, the cost for producing may be reduce hence the reduce in quality and the rise in the price. Therefore, widely promoted products usually can not live up to consumers expectation. Additionally, this can also cause negative impacts on local products considering that they are not as mainstream, albeit their quality is far more superior. Generally speaking, local brands are slowly declaring bankruptcy due to no profit hence unable to cover the running costs.

However local brands can maximize their profit and boost sales by several solutions. Due to the lack of marketing and advertisements, local brands do not stand out and create as good an impression to consumers as capital corporations. For that reason, local entrepreneurs should take the risk and call out for investment to raise their marketing fund. Furthermore, the government can assist local brands through political movements for instance exporting local products to other countries or urge citizens to use domestic goods. On top of that, raising awareness among consumers is vital, since many of them were fooled by wrong advertisements from large enterprises.

In conclusion, consumers have to be cautious of their purchase and be aware of falsely promoted products by large businesses. Additionally, local brands should be encouraged to become more mainstream in order to attract customers.