Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

The abundant financial resources of big organizations enable them to pursue numerous marketing and selling strategies, thus enhancing the customer comsumption of their goods. This phenomenon has created unwanted influences and several approaches should be applied to make domestic products appealing to buyers.

The dominant market position of large firms caused by expensive advertising campaigns has caused problems for both society and other businesses. Firstly, large-scale marketing and promotion of multinational companies can harm local markets in the long term. In other words, given that domestic companies desperately need revenues to operate, big firms’ significant market power could threaten their survival. Consequently, the domestic competitiveness of less-developed nations would decrease, posing threats to their substantial economic development as their economy relies increasingly on foreign organizations. Besides, regarding society, this monopoly situation could give giant businesses the power to manipulate the whole market, which tends to result in unfair business practices and social-detrimental activities. For instance, the leading position of Coca-Cola in the food and beverage industry has allowed it to undertake several misleading advertising campaigns regarding the health and environmental effects of its products.

However, there are possible measures that governments and local businesses can take to obtain greater control over their national markets. For local governments, antitrust policies and specific restrictions imposed on foreign firms might be an appropriate option. To exemplify, by assigning a particular amount of products sold locally by multinational corporations, domestic firms would have more opportunities to attract customers’ attention. Moreover, companies based in their home countries can take advantage of their deeper understanding of local culture to create marketing campaigns which target nationalism among customers. The marketing campaign “Vietnamese consume Vietnamese goods” is a telling example since its creators have utilized nationality awareness to persuade millions of Vietnamese to buy products produced locally.

In summary, although big businesses could boost their products’ consumption through heavily invested marketing and promotion, local authorities and companies can undertake several methods to alleviate the problems caused by them and make local products become more popular.