The leaders or directors of organizations are often older people. But some people say that young people can also be a leader. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes suggested that instead of older people, an organization can also be led by the young. I basically agree with this opinion because I believe that although older people are often more experienced, allowing young people to be a leader comes with more benefits.

On the one hand, admittedly, it is undeniable that rich experience and knowledge are needed from a leader and that they can only be acquired through time. For example, the CFO of a multinational company such as Apple must be very familiar with how to lower the risk of a new operation to the minimal level or what product they should launch to cater the potential need of their customers. It is by no means possible that a candidate in his or her twenties has equipped themselves with such competency. This is the reason why it is extremely rare to find people under 40 playing the leading roles of an organization.

However, on the other hand, I believe that there are obvious benefits for having young individuals serving at important positions of an organization. Firstly, people who are young may bring innovation to their work. Being willing to be exposed in a wide range of information sources, they are more likely to come up with better solutions to problems such as how to better communicate with their customers so that their product such as mobile phones and laptops can become more competitive in the market. In addition, young leaders are usually less conservative compared with their older counterparts. This may help them achieve higher goals as sometimes all you need is a bold decision.

In conclusion, I admit that being experienced is one important trait for a leader and is usually found in older people, but the innovative thoughts and less conservative decisions from young leaders can bring an organization to a whole new level.