The leaders or directors of organizations are often older people, but some people say that young people can also be a leader. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For a long time, the leader position of organizations are mainly occupied by seniors. However, in these years, there is a voice that young people should also be given opportunities to become a director. In my opinion, it is reasonable to appoint youngsters as leaders according to their abilities and practical requirement of industries.

Those who are oppose to the youth to be leaders mainly concern several aspects as following. Firstly, compared with seniors, the biggest drawback of young people is the lack of experience, and this cannot be simply compensated by their enthusiasm and brave hearts. Since their empirical experience is inadequate, it is not easy for them to deal with complicate problems such as riots or rivalry competition. Furthermore, due to their impatient and impulsive, young leaders are prone to make rash decisions, which may result in some unimaginable negative consequences. Finally, many young leader are not as good as their senior counterparts in integrating the organization in order to improve the efficiency, which is critical as a leadership.

Despite those disadvantages, I will argue that young people have their relative benefits as well. Their biggest advantage is their specialized knowledge, which is especially obvious in high-tech companies. For example, Mark Zuckerberg, the CEO of Facebook, developed his company as one of the most successful ones in the world only at his early 30s. Besides, young people tend to be more vigourous, open-minded and innovative, all of which are essential characters in the modern corporations and governments. These characters could lead the development and reformation of the organization. In addition, young leaders could injure vitality into the organization, which is undoubtedly benefit to the organization.

In conclusion, while young people have their own deficiencies and risks as leaders, in some industries they should be encouraged to hold the post of leadership.