Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is compulsory to learn histories in most schools in many nations these days. In fact, history does not impact our day-to-day life directly, but benefits come along. Some argue that it is not valuable and rather, learning other subjects is more advantageous, whereas others suggest that past experiences indeed have brought us lots of positive aspects. This essay will explore why the past is far more important.

To start with, there are some drawbacks of learning in regard to the past. History is certainly easy to forget and quite useless in modern era. People live for the future and dedicate to attain their goals in fields other than history. In fast developing societies, many contend that learning past contribute to waste time and hence, other subjects has to be prioritized in order to expand boundaries of knowledges. Furthermore, they insist that learning about the past does not improve youths’ logical thoughts because it is not solving complex formulas, it requires to memorize.

However, considerations in terms of benefits from the past experiences should be leant by pupils. Developments cannot be successful without failure and hence, knowing the past is mandatory. For instance, industrialisation have developed from past technology. A smartphone started from wall-phone, to 2G phone – allowed calls and text messages only – then evolved to slim device. Moreover, the first World War killed hundreds of thousands of people over the world and the next one happened only years later. If we do not acquire knowledges about the past experiences, these tragedies would happen again and new technologies will not be able. Therefore, the past has more benefits for the promising future.

In conclusion, downsides for historical educations are being discussed for other subjects to be prioritised. However, positive aspects from the past indeed impact our modern societies such as peach and industrialisation, thus, it is absolutely agreeable to learn more historical moments.