The length of the working week does not reflect modern lifestyle needs It should be substantially reduced to give people more leisure time and time with their families How far do you agree with this statement

It is debatable question that whether the length of the current working week is appropriate or not, it is certain that most people asked will choose the negative answer. Nowadays, people have to work at least eight hours per day and six days per week. The remaining time for other activities is little and this leads to a number of physical as well as social problems. Therefore, I believe with the people who suggest that it is necessary to reduce working time.

First of all, the results of studies done by the experts from many countries show that there has been a marked increase in cases of physical and mental health problems and the causes of those problems mainly involve work. The illnesses can be minor such as headache or more serious like depression and heart attacks . People who suffer from those often have such heavy workloads and pressured working environments that they cannot spend time on leisure pursuits. They feel exhausted each time they finish work and sometimes a day for pastimes is very difficult to arrange.

Besides, social issues also arise due to hectic work. As an example, there is not much time for people and their children to meet and share problems as they go to work from the early morning until the evening. As a result, the distance between parents and children has been increasing. Children are more likely to be spoiled and sometimes might commit crime. In addition to this, busy work schedules may result in a breakdown in family happiness. This is reflected by the fact that the divorce rate has increased significantly recently.

To sum up, I thoroughly agree that a decrease in working time is important. In the future, this problem should be discussed and legislation passed by the government to ensure the needs for entertainment and family care are ensured.