Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living overseas where you have to communicate in a different language has almost become the norm in such a globalized world. Advantages associated with this trend notwithstanding, I hold the conviction that there remain several serious issues. In this essay, I will pinpoint some social and practical concerns of this phenomenon.

As regards the social aspect, one of the most striking problems may be the discrimination that expatriates have to endure. Owing to cultural differences combined with language barriers, inharmonious relationship between indigenous people and ones from foreign countries is inevitable. Indubitably, this acts as a catalyst for possible social segregation and even triggers violent reactions in the community. An epitome for this argument can be discriminatory practices that many Asians fall victim to in Western countries, which is still a nagging headache for authorities in those areas.

Besides the aforementioned social concern, pratical problems are far from negligible. Not speaking the same language can be synonymous with breakdown in communication or misunderstanding, which constitutes an obstacle for foreigners to totally acclimatize themselves to the new setting. For instance, the consequent challenges encountered when finding an occupation or even in daily transactions can turn their normal life into a real struggle. Although recent advancements in technology should help to mitigate these problems, they can still be a great nuisance for foreign immigrants.

In conclusion, the social and practical issues inextricably linked to living abroad are irrefutable. Therefore, these problems should be taken into careful consideration before one makes a final decision to leave their motherland to establish a settlement in a foreign nation.