Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree with this statement.

It is obvious that spending time in a country that does not communicate by using our mother tongue would bring benefits for us. In fact, it is an adventure that can help us expose to new things that we have never had in our life. However, speaking a foreign language would create obstacles that have detrimental effects on both social and practical aspects. Thus, in my opinion, I strongly agree with the statement that severe social and practical problems could be conjured up when we stay in a country where we have to use another language to communicate. There are two reasons supporting my opinion.

First, there will be misunderstandings. In fact, when using language that we are not comfortable with, the possibility of not conveying the right idea is high, creating embarrassing situations that we would never forget. For example, when I traveled to the US, I met a guy on a dating app, and we decided to have dinner together. He asked me which food I would like to have and I told him that I am a meat-eater. Then, when he came to pick me up, he drove me to his apartment directly. I asked him for a reason. And then he just showed my message and explained the meaning of it to me. I felt embarrassed at that time because I did not know the meaning of it in English is totally different from what I thought. This was an unforgettable remembrance that I want to wipe out.

Second, without language, we cannot have a facilitated life in a foreign country. In fact, people use language as a tool to convey what they need, especially in emergencies. For example, a friend of mine, he went to Taiwan to study. However, he did not know a word of Mandarin. One time, he felt pains in his stomach, but he was afraid of going to the hospital since he did not know how to speak with them. He stayed at home for two days without any aid. On the third day, pains reached their acme. He had to ask for help from a Vietnamese student who is fluent in Mandarin. We can imagine that without the know-Mandarin person, my friend would end up in a more severe situation than he did. This case study would play a significant role in stressing the importance of using language to communicate.

In conclusion, we should be cautious of living in a country where we have to communicate by using a different language. There will be obstacles that we need to tackle. Without sufficient language skill, the possibility of encountering severe social or practical issues would be high. Each person should equip themselves with a robust language skill that helps them significantly in their daily life in a foreign country.