Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living abroad is something very common for a sort of reasons. Sometimes it could be an option, but sometimes it is not, unfortunately. In the second case, the explanation to a decision like that could be from a civil war to reasons such as economical crisis, for example. While some people belive that living in another country where the language is not their native language could be a problem, I tend to think it is an opportunity. This is why I disagree with this opinion. The purpose of this essay is discuss the positive aspects to have this experience as an immigrant or even as a refugee.

On the one hand, it is considered by many that living overseas can be a cause of many social and practical problems, mainly because of the language gap. For instance, a Brazilian, who speaks Portuguese, could have diffent kinds of problems living in the UK, where English is the local language. These difficult situations can be worst if the difference between the native language and the local language is also related to the alphabet. To illustrate, it is possible to mention a Japanese speaker or even a Russian speaker who have to live in Brazil, for example.

On the other hand, others support the opinion that despite of the possible problems, living overseas can be a chance to have a better life. And, as mentioned before, for some individuals living in another country it is the only possibility and not exactly an option. Two solutions to reduce this issue are some resources as translators and the foreigner community in the new country, which are extremely supportive in a first moment. Moreover, in long term it is totally possible to learn the local language, reducing all the problems related to the communication.

With the above in mind, it is also necessary to consider that immigration is not new for the humanity and it is part of our language and culture in general. In conclusion, I think living abroad is more an opportunity than a problem, mainly because it is possible to manage the problems and improve the language with the time.