Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people are migrating to other countries within these years, which can lead to problems if they’re not familiar with the different languages they have to speak, therefore my answer is yes.

English is one of the most dominant languages, though there are still various countries who have their own, such as the Europeans. Before going overseas, surely you’ll have to learn a different language, which some might find difficulty during the process. The words may differ a lot- for example, the gender of an item, which you have to figure out when taking a German course. Being paired up with your classmates for an assignment your teacher provided, however, you might not be able to express your mind, or simply trying to make out the words you’re trying to form, which can result in being unable to fit in the crowd and become isolated -based on the differences.

Subsequently, this may affect your daily lives as well. If you’re disoriented, you’ll ask a stranger passing by, but you might not know what instructions to ask. When heading to a hospital for medical treatment, or even a restaurant, might be a challenge for them and are instead forced to use hand gestures, like pointing at a specific item, failing after a plethora of attempts.

To conclude, residing in a foreign place would bring numerous problems, for example having to adapt to a whole new environment, a narrow range of vocabularies when communicating and also might not be able to fulfill your needs, thus I believe is a major issue that we should put more focus and effort on.