The main aim of advertising is to increase the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that the crucial purpose of advertising is to focus only on how to increase the sales of products that people have no demand to buy. However, I disagree with this statement because advertising has other goals to aim at just not only increasing sales.

There are several reasons that an advertisement focuses on how to increase the sales of products that people do not need to buy. The first reason is that the company wants to increase the profits in sales. Companies have usually exaggerated the value of their product. Not only that, but companies are also hiring famous people like an actor to promote the products to attract more customers. Because nowadays, people always tend to imitate their idols. As a result, product sales will increase, but serving the customers' needs will decrease. The second reason is that the companies also aim to the customer's mind. For example, a smartphone company named iPhone has released every new model with many new features every year. As a result, this has affected and pushed customers to buy their new models to experience it. Not only customers will get fascinated with that, but they can also enhance their own value by owning the latest phone.

However, the advertisement also has other goals to gain. The first goal is to provide the products with the right features according to the needs of consumers. For example, many people have complained that the blender makes a lot of noise when using it. In order to resolve the problems, home appliance companies had invented noiseless blenders and promoted their products to consumers. As a result, consumers were satisfied because they chose the right products. The next goal is to increase not only the reputation of the product but also of the company. If advertising focuses on satisfying buyers through their needs, the company's reputation will add another plus point. The more buyers, the more number of people know about the company.

In conclusion, I think advertisements should not focus on the main goals of increasing product sales that do not meet the expectation of consumers but also need to focus on other goals.