Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people give a thought that a huge amount of money is blown off by maintaining public libraries whose functions are completely substituted with advanced technology. I partly have an agreement with this idea since public libraries have their own advantages mentioned below.

On the one hand, advanced computer technology plays as an alternative for the substitution of some functions of public libraries to some extent. The first reason is that online sources house a whole variety of information. There are numerous kinds of people, from researchers to ordinary ones, contributing information to the internet daily, which enriches not only the depth but also the width of information. Noteworthy is the fact that when it comes to the internet, users can keep themselves up-to-date whenever AND wherever they are. They can use any kinds of DEVICES such as portable tablets, mobile phoneS, or private laptops to browse any websites, as long as their pieces of equipment are connected to the Internet. This is a huge advantage for users, especially the ones with a hectic schedule.

On the other hand, public libraries have their own irreplaceable benefits. First of all, this kind of information source is perfectly suitable for the low-tech, especially the elderly. Without having any knowledge of how to use a computer, the over-middle-age people or the technology illiterate ones tend to go to nearby libraries to browse for their information in need. When it comes to a trustable source of information, public libraries prove themselves. Since the whole variety of books stored in these places are published by many publishers having their own reputation, the information is all examined thoroughly before coming out to the readers. Meanwhile, information on the internet can be posted by anyone, therefore there is a requirement to clarify the valuable one before users use the information on purpose.

I totally agree that computer technology works a treat by providing everyone with a huge amount of information which can be reached no matter when and where. Despite that, public libraries are the better choice for anyone who knows barely about technology and is eager to search for the reliable source of information.