Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Managing public libraries is a waste of money because sophisticated computer can replace their functions. Not all functions of public libraries can be replaced by computer in this era because coming to a library give many benefits and not all books have already been documented online.

Most people in the world still go to a library to read a book or meet someone to discuss some topics. This condition can also be done on the computer, but there are a lot of problems such as limited time and disturbed signal. This can have some impact on people in developing their academic activities. For example, some developed countries in the east of Asia like Japan and South Korea have focused on developing their education, especially for public libraries in the central place have become the center of discussion for all students. This rule has a positive effect on increasing the number of education quality in these countries.

When it comes to public libraries, most people go to these places to read books since there are considerably different feelings if reading the book on the computer. Reading the books directly can motivate people to finish the book and it is one of the methods to protect the eye from computer radiation. For instance, based on the report from students of Hasanuddin University, Makassar, reading books on the computer has caused some negative effects on young people such as myopic symptoms and fatigue. This situation was linear with decreasing quality of problem-solving in the school. Moreover, some developing countries in Southeast Asia like Cambodia and Myanmar have many cases mentioning that young people who always read books on the computer become an introverted person.

If it is possible this issue has to be attention by all people. People must be aware of all the effects of computer technology, therefore talking about maintaining public libraries have to mix all methods including sophisticated ways to improve the function of the library.