Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?"

Nowadays, technological breakthroughs allow people to do lots of things seem impossible. We even can read books on the computers or phones because they have plenty of functions of a library. I totally agree that investing and preserving libraries is not necessary due to the fact that computer technology can be a alternative tool.

First of all, reading on computer science is handy and versatile. We can see that reading tools, not only provide diverse of books like libraries, but also permit readers to bookmark and take notes on the screens. Besides, technological devices decrease the expenses when there are lots of websites or applications offering free books and materials. Futhermore, there are also offline books so that people can read at anytime, even without wifi connection, we just need to type the name and it may turn up. For example, Kindle is the most used reading application with more than 100 million users all over the world. Kindle looks like a online library, where readers can find tons of free books here, as well as order books with cheaper prices, compared to the ones in the market. Therefore, those developments like this is a incentive for readership to read more.

Second, we don’t need to worry about returning books to the libraries while we can read as much as we wish on computer technology. For example, many people have to go to the library to send books back before deadline although they haven’t done it yet, this may be inconvenient. However, when reading on the phones or computers, we can make sure that the books are still there and we can open them at anytime.

To conclude, with the developments of computer science, public libraries are becoming less effective, people tend to read books on phones or laptops instead because of the convenience and they don’t have to return the books. The world needs poster the online reading culture to the youth more so that everyone can approach knowledge easily whenever they want.