Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are widely divergent on the role of libraries in this contemporary era. Many individuals are of the belief that public libraries are no longer of great importance due to the unprecedented growth of computer technology; thus, maintaining them turns out to be a total waste of resources. From my perspective, I find myself in total disagreement with this aforementioned notion.

On the one hand, proponents of the abolition of libraries espouse that computers could carry out all the required tasks in a much more effective way than libraries. First and foremost, since computers are programmed with a set of algorithms, they are able to ensure a more streamlined process. For example, with regard to such tasks as sorting out the data of users or books which contain an element of precision, while humans may susceptible to mistakes and errors during this process probably resulting from fatigue, hardly will computers encounter such circumstances. Additionally, granted that computers possess a high storage capacity, it is by no means a challenge for them to convert all the data into their memory; thus, enabling people to gain access to a treasure trove of materials to assist their work and study with just a click of a mouse.

On the other hand, it is my firm belief that libraries have a pivotal role to play in society. First of all, libraries can grant people a golden opportunity to widen their social circle. With the help of libraries, bookworms could gather and share their interests with one another, resulting in cultivating a sense of belonging. For instance, Phu Yen library has a long-standing practice of holding reading events annually, which is indubitably a once-in-a-lifetime experience for book addicts within the area. Another justification for my opinion is that libraries could act as means to create employment opportunities for citizens. Indeed, working as librarians could generate a decent income for inhabitants, enhancing their standard of living. If it weren't for libraries, a great number of people would be vulnerable to unemployment status.

To recapitulate, although computer technology could facilitate the reading process owing to its higher efficacy, never can it stand a chance of completely replacing libraries in this regard. Considering the advantages pertaining to relationships and employment, the library deserves to receive funding for its maintenance.