Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Many people think that increasing the number of sports facilities is the main solution to boost the health condition of the people. Although this can develop the public health to some extent, this cannot solely give the best result and others measures are needed.

Increasing the number of sports facilities can improve the people’s health in various ways. In many cities, there is a serious lack of sports facilities, like playground and parks, because most of the space is occupied by the modern buildings. So although many people have the desire to play outside to keep themselves fit, it cannot be possible due to lack of sports facilities. If government takes initiative to increase the number of playground, gyms or parks for jogging, health-conscious people will easily be motivated to go there. Besides, it will be even better if that facilities are free for all or charge a minimal fee, and as a result, more people will be encouraged to go there.

However, even if there is a high number of sports facilities, many people might still be discouraged to go there as they will see it as strenuous work. Besides, if people’s food habit is not changed, for example, it foods contain a lot of cholesterol, their health condition will remain unchanged regardless of the exercise. So, government should first make people understand the benefits of going to sports centre and this can be possible by arranging health-related campaigns and programs in the television in which people can get advice regarding how to maintain a healthy lifestyle including the healthy foods necessary for our health. Consequently, more people will be motivated to go to sports centre.

To conclude, increasing the number of sports centre will only give the best result if people are motivated to go be fit and lead a healthy lifestyle.